Mike Pantelides  
Mayor's Office
Title: Mayor
Phone: 410-263-7997
Mayor Mike Pantelides

Michael John Pantelides became the mayor of the city of Annapolis on December 2, 2013. Implementing a fresh new approach of how government should be run, he broke the old mold of how transition teams were staffed by requesting locals apply and sit on the committees, giving input at the grassroots level.

He is a fiscal conservative, an environmental advocate, and a champion of diversity. He successfully passed two budgets with no real estate tax rate increase, spearheaded a national environmental conference touted as a model for environmental best practices, and reinvented the city's Language Bank, made up of 61 residents that speak 23 different languages, helping individuals to communicate through available translation services.

The mayor continues to turn liabilities into assets, most recently signing the Annapolis Renewable Energy Park lease. This project takes an old landfill and turns it into a revenue stream for the city, generating $5 million over the next 20 years. He is also working in partnership with the federal, state and local government to ensure funding is put in place to mitigate flooding in Historic Annapolis.

Mayor Pantelides is committed to promoting progress, while preserving the past. He understands the delicate balance of bringing in the 236 new or expanded businesses since he took office, while ensuring this historic integrity of the city is not jeopardized.

Mayor Pantelides is active in the community on many levels. He was recently appointed to serve on Governor Larry Hogan's Workforce Investment Board (GWIB) focusing on cybersecurity. Pantelides is also a board member of the 21st century education foundation and the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Visitors Bureau.

The mayor actively sits on the County Executive's Heroin Task Force, the Legislative Committee for the Maryland Municipal League, and is the past Vice Chair of the Baltimore Regional Transit board. He is also an Ex Officio member of the National Sailing Hall of Fame.

Return to Staff Directory