News Flash


Posted on: July 23, 2019

Press Release: Public Works Maintenance Facility Task Force Meets to Begin Advisory Work

Press Release

Annapolis Logo1

Public Information Office 

160 Duke of Gloucester Street

Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Media Contact: Mitchelle Stephenson, 410-972-7724,

Public Works Maintenance Facility Task Force
Meets to Begin Six Months of Advisory Work


Annapolis, MD (July 23, 2019) On Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 2 p.m., the Public Works Maintenance Facility Task Force held their inaugural meeting at the “Pip” Moyer Recreation Center. The group, chaired by former Alderman Jared Littman, was established when the City Council passed Resolution R-37-19 on July 8, 2019.

The Task Force will report back to the City Council with their recommendations by January of 2020. The group is charged with providing the Council with findings and recommendations for the location of the maintenance facility as described in the City’s 2020 Capital Improvement Program.

The issues they are tasked with addressing include: the environment, housing, zoning, traffic, quality of life, business, tax revenue and Department of Public Works employee relations.

The experts being brought together will give us their professional advice on the appropriate location of the DPW facility,” said Alderwoman Sheila Finlayson.

The list of Task Force participants are as follows: 

Public Works Maintenance Facility Task Force Members

Environmental Impact

Matthew Johnston (or designee)

Anne Arundel County

Bill Davidson

Annapolis Neck

Land Use

Phil Hager

Anne Arundel County Planning Director

Elliott Powell

Economic Development


Cliff Martin

County Housing Director

Kathy Koch

Anne Arundel County Development Services


Nester Flores

Anne Arundel County Department of Public Works

Nancy Randall

Resident Expert

Connectivity and Recreational Amenities

Jon Korin (or Designee)

Chair of the Bicycle Commission

Greg Stewart

Senior Manager for Planning, AACPS

Impact on Communities

Wards 1, 4 and 5

Kathy Ebner

Homes for America

Curtis Jones

American Legion

Dan Brookes

Ward 4

Minor Carter

Ward 5

Julie Kizer Ball

Ward 1

Impact on Businesses

Jared Littmann, Chair

True Value Hardware (owner)

Fiscal Impact – Land Swap

Scott Gibson

Resident expert

Darrell Hale

Village Green

Fiscal Impact

Bill Davidson

Annapolis Neck

Impact on Employees

Don Hankins


Jackie Allsup

NAACP President

The Task Force will internally determine its own work plan and schedule.

# # #

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Headlines

Truxtun Pool Community Meeting

Posted on: January 14, 2019