News Flash


Posted on: August 10, 2021

Press Release: Annapolis Elections: Only Residents in Wards 3, 4 and 8 Will Get Primary Ballots

Office of the Mayor

Public Information Office
160 Duke of Gloucester Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Media contact: Mitchelle Stephenson, 410-972-7724 or 

Annapolis 2021 Elections: Only Residents in Wards 3, 4 and 8 Will Receive Primary Election Ballots 

Annapolis, MD (August 10, 2021) – The City of Annapolis’ Board of Supervisors of Elections (BOSE) announced on Tuesday, Aug. 10, that only eligible voters in Wards 3, 4 and 8 will receive ballots in the upcoming Primary Election. All other races are uncontested, and per City Code (4.20.080 D - see note below), uncontested primary candidates automatically move on to the General Election.

The slates of candidates for both the Annapolis Democratic Central Committee and the Annapolis Republican Central Committee are deemed elected after a Ward 7 candidate’s certification was revoked during a closed session of the BOSE. The City of Annapolis runs elections for the central committees as a courtesy. Central committee members will not appear on the November 2, 2021 General Election ballot. 

There are three Democratic contested primary elections for City Council seats. In these wards, all eligible Democratic voters will receive a mail-in ballot after August 30, 2021:

  • In Ward 3, Rhonda Pindell Charles, the incumbent Democrat, will face Keanuú Smith-Brown (D);
  • In Ward 4, Sheila M. Finlayson, the incumbent Democrat, will face Toni Strong Pratt (D); and 
  • In Ward 8, Ross H. Arnett, III, the incumbent Democrat, will face Kathleen (Kati) George (D).

Voters may return their ballots via U.S. Mail (no postage necessary), or drop them at one of eight polling placeseither in a drop box (available between August 30 and September 21). 

Voters may also vote in-person at their Ward polling place on Primary Election Day (September 21, 2021 between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m.).  Polling locations are as follows: 

  • Ward 3 is at Mt. Olive Community Life Center, 2 Hicks Ave.;
  • Ward 4 is at American Legion Post #141, 1707 Forest Drive; and 
  • Ward 8 is at Eastport Volunteer Fire Hall, 914 Bay Ridge Avenue. 

The final slate of candidates who will go directly to the November 2 General Election ballot will include: 




Gavin Buckley, incumbent

Steven Strawn

Ward 1

Elly Tierney, incumbent

No Candidate

Ward 2

Karma O’Neill

Scott Gibson

Ward 3

Contested Primary

No Candidate

Ward 4

Contested Primary

No Candidate

Ward 5

Brooks Schandelmeier, incumbent

Monica Fenton Manthey

Ward 6

DaJuan Gay, incumbent

George Michael Gallagher

Ward 7

Rob Savidge, incumbent

No Candidate

Ward 8

Contested Primary

Rock Toews (R)

Democratic Central Committee members are: Kurt Riegel (At Large), Joshua Falk (Ward 2), NT Sharps II (Ward 3), Kimberly Moseley Golder (Ward 4), Loni Moyer (Ward 6), David Frankel (Ward 7), and Frieda K. Wildey (Ward 8).

Republian Central Committee members are: Suzanne Duffy (At Large), Janet Katz (Ward 1), Mary Beth A. Chipkevich (Ward 2), Michael L. Dye (Ward 3), Tom Hurd (Ward 5), Christine Cirone (Ward 6), Stacey Crown (Ward 7), and Kecia Pettey (Ward 8). 

At the meeting, the BOSE also designated a City of Annapolis Elections Helpline: 410-263-7929. The public can also submit questions to the BOSE via the online webform and they will be reviewed at the August 19 meeting. 

Note: City Code 4.20.080 - D  (  If there are no contested nominations for any public office and no contested elections to any party office of the parties required to nominate candidates at a primary election the primary election shall not be held. The candidates shall be deemed nominated or elected, as the case may be. If there is no contested nomination for Mayor or contested election for a City-wide party office, the primary election shall be held only in those wards in which there is a contested nomination for Alderman or a contested election for a party office. Unopposed candidates shall be deemed nominated or elected, as the case may be.


# # #

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Headlines

Truxtun Pool Community Meeting

Posted on: January 14, 2019