No Discharge Zone

Learn about the No Discharge Zones that will be effective July 1, 2022, in all waters in Anne Arundel County and The City of Annapolis.


Effective July 1, 2022, all waters in Anne Arundel County and the City of Annapolis are No Discharge Zones (NDZ). An NDZ is an area in which both treated and untreated sewage discharges from vessels are prohibited. It is already illegal to discharge raw or untreated sewage within three miles of the U.S. coast. Within NDZ boundaries, vessel operators are required to retain sewage on board for disposal onshore at a pumpout facility and/or disable “treat and release” (Type I or II marine sanitation devices).

On-Shore Pump Outs

The Maryland Department of Natural Resources maintains a list of pump-out facilities, including more than a dozen in Annapolis and more than three dozen in Anne Arundel County. For a map of locations visit the DNR Pump Out MAP online.

A map of Anne Arundel County with sections of the water highlighted in stripes

Pump Out Boats

Annapolis Harbormaster operates a Pump Out Boat. View this page for more information

The Annapolis Pump Out boat will come to you! The Pump Out is in service five days a week May 15th through the middle of November: Wednesday through Sunday from 9 am until 3:30 pm, weather permitting. From mid November until late March, the vessel operates on Wednesday and Saturday, weather permitting. To schedule a pump out, call on VHF 17 or call 410-320-6852 during service hours and provide your location, vessel name, approximate amount of gallons to be pumped off, and your vessel will be placed in the queue. The charge is $5 per tank, up to 50 gallons. Anything beyond that is an additional $1 per tank for every 10 gallons.

How is the NDZ enforced?

The Natural Resources Police, Annapolis Harbormaster, and U.S. Coast Guard will be able to enforce observed violations on the water. The Maryland Department of the Environment is authorized to issue civil penalties not to exceed $10,000 per violation. Enforcement actions could include education, penalties and fines.

For further details visit the Maryland Department of Natural Resources fact sheet