COVID-19 Workforce Assistance
US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The EEOC maintains a web page on COVID-19 and Equal Opportunity Employment laws.
US Department of Labor
The Wage and Hour Division provides information on common issues employers and employees face when responding to influenza, pandemics, or other public health emergencies, and their effects on wages and hours worked under the Fair Labor Standards Act and job-protected leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act.
See the US Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division for additional information on the FMLA or call 1-866-487-9243 if you have questions.
The Families First Coronavirus Response Act responds to the coronavirus outbreak by providing paid sick leave and free coronavirus testing,expanding food assistance and unemployment benefits, and requiring employers to provide additional protections for health care workers. The bill takes effect April 2, 2020 and these provisions will apply through December 31, 2020. For more information, see Families First Coronavirus Response Act: Questions and Answers.
Generally, the Act provides that employees of covered employers are eligible for:
• Two weeks (up to 80 hours) of paid sick time at the employee’s regular rate of pay where the employee is unable to work because the employee is quarantined (pursuant to Federal, State, or local government order or advice of a health care provider), and/or experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and seeking a medical diagnosis; or
• Two weeks (up to 80 hours) of paid sick time at two-thirds the employee’s regular rate of pay because the employee is unable to work because of a bona fide need to care for an individual subject to quarantine (pursuant to Federal, State, or local government order or advice of a health care provider), or to care for a child (under 18 years of age) whose school or child care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19, and/or the employee is experiencing a substantially similar condition as specified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, in consultation with the Secretaries of the Treasury and Labor; and
• Up to an additional 10 weeks of paid family leave at two-thirds the employee’s regular rate of pay where an employee, who has been employed for at least 30 calendar days, is unable to work due to a bona fide need for leave to care for a child whose school or child care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19.
Maryland Department of Labor
New resource - the COVID-19 Financial Relief Guide for Marylanders is a downloadable consumer guide that summarizes some of the new COVID-19 financial relief programs and consumer protections for Maryland residents and their families, with links to more resources.
New resource - the COVID-19 Information - Financial Regulation webpage is for industries supervised by the Commissioner of Financial Regulation and includes COVID-19 advisories, regulatory guidance, and other resources for licensees, registrants, and state-chartered institutions.
The Unemployment Guide to the New Weekly Claim Certification Questions from the Maryland Department of Labor helps answer new weekly claim certification questions required by the U.S. Department of Labor. The guide lists new questions in the order they are asked, describes what the questions are asking claimants, and explains what answering "Yes" or "No" means.
Visit the Department of Labor’s COVID-19 FAQ about COVID-19 and Maryland’s Unemployment Insurance Benefits Administration - Unemployment Insurance.
Are you looking for employment opportunities in Maryland during COVID-19? Maryland Department of Labor has compiled a list of over 65 employers who are hiring individuals to immediately fill hundreds of positions.
Division of Unemployment Insurance
The Maryland Department of Labor Unemployment Insurance Program is fully operational. Employees who have been laid off can file a claim immediately (there is no waiting period) by phone or online (recommended). Eligible Marylanders will be paid benefits through the first day after they were laid off. The state has temporarily waived all work-search requirements for unemployment insurance benefit recipients.
Do you need assistance with the BEACON One-Stop Online Application? View the BEACON One-Stop Tutorial Videos (scroll to the middle of the page).
If you have questions about this new application, please read the BEACON One-Stop FAQs.
Contacting the Division of Unemployment Insurance Claim Center
Claims Centers telephone lines are currently extended and open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. To contact the Claim Center call 410-949-0022.
They are implementing a new gating system to increase the number of customers who are able to complete their filings with minimal hassle and frustration:
- On Sundays and Mondays, ONLY our customers who are filing weekly claim certifications will be able to file, in order to ensure that Marylanders can receive their payments timely and when needed. If you are unable to file your weekly claim certification on Sunday or Monday, you are not restricted from filing it on any other day.
- On Tuesdays through Saturdays, our customers can file new claims as well as complete all other activities.
File Your Missing Weekly Claim Certification(s) Online
Labor has implemented a new solution and updated their systems to allow you to file ALL the weekly claim certifications you have been unable to file since filing your initial claim. Starting Thursday, April 9th, you will be able to file ONLINE for each of those missing week(s). For detailed instructions, please visit the File Your Missing Weekly Claim Certification(s) Online page.
Work Sharing Unemployment Insurance Program
Work Sharing is a voluntary program that provides an alternative to layoffs for employers faced with a temporary, non-cyclical decline in business due to lower economic activity. Qualified employers who participate in Work Sharing are able to retain an entire employee group by reducing that group’s hours of work by a percentage equal to the total reduction of hours that would have been achieved by a layoff.
Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org for additional information
Division of Labor and Industry
The Maryland Department of Labor’s Division of Labor and Industry enforces the Maryland Health Working Families Act, also known as Safe and Sick Leave, which may be useful for employees who need to take off from work due to COVID-19. For further assistance, email email@example.com or call 410-767-2357.
Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning
Labor’s Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning enforces the Rapid Response System, which works collaboratively with the State’s businesses and workers to minimize the impact of economic disruptions caused by layoffs and plant or business operations closing.
Office of Small Business Regulatory Assistance
Labor’s Office of Small Business Regulatory Assistance is available to help Maryland business owners find timely and effective solutions to issues, so they can go about running their companies. They can be contacted by calling 410-230-6101 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
Expansion of Unemployment Insurance Benefits Under the New CARES Act
The federal government recently passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), which includes an expansion of unemployment insurance benefits for Marylanders. The Secretary of the Maryland Department of Labor opted into providing ALL three of the expanded unemployment insurance programs offered through the provisions of the CARES Act.
Like many other states, Labor’s IT system is currently NOT set-up to process these new CARES Act programs immediately. This will take time, but please note that you WILL receive these new benefits back to the earliest date of your eligibility.
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA)
Individuals who are not usually eligible for regular UI and who cannot work due to COVID-19 are eligible for a maximum of 39 weeks of benefits, which includes $600 Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC).
Starting Friday, April 24, those who are self-employed, independent contractors, gig workers, or have insufficient work history will be able to apply online for unemployment assistance.
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC)
$600 per week on top of current regular UI benefits. Effective March 29, 2020 through July 31, 2020. You will be automatically updated if you qualify, are currently receiving benefits, and once technical systems are modified.
Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC)
13 additional weeks of UI benefits, plus $600 FPUC. Effective March 29, 2020 through Dec. 31, 2020. You will be automatically updated if you qualify, are currently receiving benefits, and once technical systems are modified.
Maryland Insurance Administration
Visit the Maryland Insurance Administration’s FAQ page addressing insurance-related questions about COVID-19.
Maryland Department of Health
As part of the state’s overall response to the coronavirus, and in an effort to prioritize health and safety, Maryland Health Connection has opened a new special enrollment period for uninsured Marylanders.
Maryland Department of Human Services
The Maryland Department of Human Services (DHS) is the state’s primary social service provider. The Department aggressively pursues opportunities to assist people in economic need, provide preventive services, and protect vulnerable children and adults
The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), called the Food Supplement Program (FSP) in Maryland, formerly known as Food Stamps, helps low-income households buy the food they need for good health. Everyone has the right to apply for FSP.
Anne Arundel Workforce Development Corporation
Anne Arundel Workforce Development Corporation offers resources and assistance for job seekers, and maintains a resource page for COVID-19.
AAWDC’s Business & Industry Solutions team is available to assist with workforce challenges. Please fill out this short questionnaire about how COVID-19 is impacting your business and an AAWDC Business Solutions team member will reach out to with resources and services to help.
AAWDC also keeps a list of current temporary, part-time,and full-time employment opportunities.
Anne Arundel County Food Bank
The Anne Arundel County Food Bank (AACFB) ensures that all those in need have access to food, nutritional supplements and baby food.
Community Action Agency of Anne Arundel County
For Anne Arundel County residents who require assistance with their utility bills or with housing services, please call 410.626.1900. Press #3 to reach Energy Assistance staff and press #4 to reach a member of our Housing Assistance and Services staff.