Heritage Commission

Meetings in 2020

  • January 8, 2020
  •  March 4, 2020 
  • May 6, 2020 
  • July 1, 2020
  •  September 2, 2020
  •  November 4, 2020

Meetings are held at 145 Gorman Street, 3rd Floor Conference Room

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Agenda In Your Inbox

  1. Subscribe to the Agenda Center Notifications Visit this page, enter your email address, scroll down to the Agenda Center, select Boards/Commissions of your interest. Once subscribed, you will receive notifications right after new agendas are posted.


Name Appointed Reappointed Expires
Theodore Mack, Chair 10/31/11 2/8/16 6/30/19
Robert Worden, Ward 1 10/31/11 9/26/16 6/30/19
Alma H. Cropper, Ward 4 10/31/11 2/8/16 6/30/19
Marcie Taylor-Thoma 10/26/15 5/13/19 9/30/22


The Commission shall advise on and facilitate the development of programs and activities that increases public awareness, appreciation and preservation of the cultural heritage of the City of Annapolis. The Commission shall have discretion to develop programs and projects in partnership with the Historic Preservation Commission and other heritage-related agencies and organizations that keeps the cultural heritage alive in our memory as a part of what has shaped us as a people, nation, and culture. This can include commemorative events, publications, monuments, markers, awards and other educational activities.

For purposes of this Commission's work, cultural heritage shall be defined as the legacy of places, artifacts and intangible attributes of a group or society that are inherited from past generations, maintained in the present and bestowed for the benefit of future generations.

The Commission shall consider as a primary component of program and project development the educational value and public benefit associated with the Commission's proposed activities.


The Commission consists of 7 residents and up to 5 at large members who have a demonstrated knowledge and interest in the history and culture of Annapolis. Four of the 10 positions may include, by way of example, representatives from Historic Annapolis Foundation, Maryland State Archives, Four Rivers Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town, and South County and the Annapolis History Consortium. The members shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the Council.

City Code

Access the City Code that adheres to the Heritage Commission.