Mayor Mike Pantelides

Pantellides MikeMayor Michael John Pantelides

Wanting to be the Mayor of Annapolis since he was 18 years old, Michael Pantelides took office on December 2, 2013 and began implementing a fresh new approach of how government should be run. In the spirit of inclusion, he broke the old mold of how transition teams were staffed by requesting locals apply and sit on the committees, giving input at the grassroots level.

He is a fiscal conservative, an environmental advocate, and a champion of diversity. He successfully passed two budgets with no real estate tax rate increase, spearheaded a national environmental conference touted as a model for environmental best practices, and is the first to create the position of Hispanic Liaison in his office, reaching out the fastest growing constituent base in the nation.

The mayor continues to turn liabilities into assets, most recently the signing of the Annapolis Renewable Energy Park lease. This project takes an old landfill and turns it into a revenue stream for the city, generating $5 million over the next 20 years.  He is also working in partnership with the federal, state and local government to ensure funding is put in place to mitigate flooding in Historic Annapolis.

Mayor Pantelides is committed to promoting progress, while preserving the past.  He understands the delicate balance of bringing in the 200 new or expanded businesses since he took office, while ensuring this historic integrity of the city is not jeopardized.

Mayor Pantelides is a board member of the 21st century educations foundation, serves on the board of the Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Visitors Bureau, serves as a government representative on the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulations Board, sits on the County Executive’s Heroin Task Force, sits on the Legislative Committee for the Maryland Municipal League, and is the past Vice Chair of the Baltimore Regional Transit board. He is also an Ex Officio member of the National Sailing Hall of Fame.