News Releases and Media Advisories

Mayor Pantelides Announces Citizen Advisory Transition Team

Annapolis, MD (1-16-14)  As part of his commitment to guarantee public input in the City decision making process, Annapolis Mayor Michael Pantelides announced his Citizen Advisory Transition Team, which is comprised of citizens, all who submitted  requests to be on the transition team.  The volunteer team is made up of citizens who bring professional, educational, and diverse public and private sector experience to the working groups.

“What makes this group so remarkable is that individuals sent in their resumes and asked to serve on the team,” Mayor Pantelides said.  “This unique approach to putting a transition team together produces the best and brightest from all walks of life.  While I wish I could have selected everyone, I am pleased that our team represents a broad cross section of our community.”

The Citizen Advisory Transition Team will assist the Mayor and City Council when meeting the challenges anticipated over the next four years. The team will submit a final report to the Mayor.

There are about 100 members serving on the ten committees. Mayor Pantelides has directed his transition team to address environmental issues related to each specific committee. This eliminates a broad-based approach to address the environment and makes it a component of all ten committee reports.

The Citizen Advisory Transition Team Committees and Chair of each committee include:

  • Public Safety - Al Kirchner
  • Internal Support- Joe Rubino
  • Public/Community Services– Steve Johnson
  • Transportation/Parking – David Humphreys
  • Recreation and Parks - Wilson Phipps
  • Human Services – Amalie E. Brandenburg
  • Resource/Economic and Maritime Development – Sean O’Neill
  • Financial Management – Fred Sussman
  • Public Housing – Deneice Fischer
  • Boards and Commissions – Bevin Buchheister