Annapolis Fire Department

Annapolis Fire Department

​Emergency: 9-1-1 | Administration:

Fire Department LogoFire Chief Stokes Fire Chief David L. Stokes Sr.

Mission Statement

The Annapolis Fire Department (AFD) exists to provide a safe environment for the community by minimizing the impact of fire and injury through public education, quality service, emergency preparedness and an overall culture of safety.

"An ISO Class 2 Department"

Proudly Protecting Maryland’s Historic Capital City

The Annapolis Fire Department has a proud and rich tradition of protecting Maryland’s Historic State Capital. Incorporated in 1708, Annapolis is approximately 7.6 square miles and is home to 38,400 residents and the United States Naval Academy and St. John's College.

Our 127 member Department ​operates four fire stations (Eastport, Forest Drive, Taylor Ave and Anne Arundel County Annapolis Neck station) operating three engine companies, one rescue squad, two truck companies, four transport paramedic units and one 36 foot Fire Boat. 

The Department operates a Hazardous Materials Unit, Bomb Squad and Fire & Explosive Investigation services. The Fire Marshal’s Office provides public education and fire safety inspections. In 2010, the City’s Office of Emergency Management was placed under the command of the Annapolis Fire Department. 


Pictures courtesy of Annapolis of Fire Department